Print

Print


----- Receiving the following content ----- 
From: Joshua Pakstis 
Receiver: BOSOX 
Time: 2011-06-05, 09:14:27
Subject: Re: [BOSOX] Catching


I might be wrong about this but isn't blocking the plate without the ball technically interference? If a fielder were to stand in the way of the runner at first, second, or third without the ball, that would be interference (it seems the vast majority of blocking plays at home occur either before the ball is in the catcher's mitt or simultaneously with catcher receiving the ball). Is there an exception for home plate?


     Here is the rule:
Rule 7.06 of the MLB Rulebook it states: 
" The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding a ball or when he already has the ball in his hand. "



Bob Beach, [log in to unmask]
6/5/2011 



-----
No virus found in this message.
Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
Version: 10.0.1382 / Virus Database: 1511/3682 - Release Date: 06/05/11